My mother

It seems almost fitting to me that the first novel of mine to be published was based on my mother.  My mother had always encouraged me to be educated, always thought of me as a genius actually.  She had faith in my abilities, even though as a young person I was rather lazy in my accomplishments.  I was an A and B student and probably would’ve done much better had I been more ambitious.  But I took it for granted.  I thought of myself as a smart kid because my mother thought so.

Writing for me was the same way.  I was good at coming up with ideas for novels.  Even creating a few characters.  But I never had the passion, the discipline, the drive to write.  It’s only been recently, through the inspiration of the Lord, that I have felt these things.    Coming Home is about finding a secure place in a storm.  It’s about finding something to believe in that will take us out of our circumstances, and a Christians, we know that something is Jesus.

It was recently 17 years since my mother passed away, so I’m glad it’s so near to that anniversary, so near to Mother’s Day that my first book has been published.  I have felt this story in my heart for a couple of years.   I am happy with the results and pray that this book will do well.  It is the culmination of a life-time dream, and my mother’s hopes for my life.

Leave a Reply

